Kacey’s graduation trip to Mexico…

My niece is amazing! OK, she’s my husband’s niece… but I claim her as mine.  She was a baby at our wedding and I can’t believe she just went off to college. For graduation we decided to take her on a little getaway.  My husband chose the Rosewood Mayakoba near Playa del Carmen, Mexico.

The Rosewood is a wonderful property.  Upon arrival you get taken to your room via river barge which provides a nice introduction to the resort and its amenities.  Bicycles are provided to all guests and golf carts run round the clock so you never have to worry about how you’re going to get from place to place (the resort is a little spread out).  One of my favorite “activities” was the EcoTour (I think it was supposed to be for kids, but I went anyway…).  One of the staff biologists takes you on a guided boat tour around the property and teaches you about all the various animals and plants at the hotel.  We were lucky enough to see baby crocodiles, iguanas, turtles and a ton of different fish and bird life.  I know, I’m a total science geek — I LOVED IT!

We also went into Playa del Carmen for dinner and some shopping, took a day trip down to the ruins in Tulum, stopped by Akumal to snorkel with the sea turtles, and even learned how to make cigars. It was a short trip, but I’m so glad we had the chance to spend some time together before she heads off to adulthood.  Love you Kacey!!!

Leave a Reply

