Body Language 101: Holding hands with the Dalai Lama

Photo credit: bushcenter.org

This entire blog entry started after a trip to the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum.  My in-laws were in town and we needed something “to do”.  They’re very conservative so I sucked it up and decided to take them to the new Bush library.  Admittedly, I wasn’t expecting much.  (If you follow this blog for very long you’re sure to find out that I’m pretty “unconservative” – not an easy thing in a state like Texas).  I wasn’t a supporter of the Bush administration and I was pretty sure it would take every ounce of strength I had to make it through the afternoon.  (If you follow this blog for very long you’ll also find out that I tend to be rather opinionated and often have to “eat my words” after I’ve actually looked at all sides of a situation — that’s about to happen now…)

As I strolled through the exhibits, trying to look aloof and uninterested, I found myself facing a wall of photos showing GW and Mrs. Bush with various world leaders and heads-of-state.  My eyes immediately went to a photo of the Bushes with the Dalai Lama — It made me smile, in a BIG way.  There was a Bush on either side of the Dalai Lama, all arm-in-arm, all laughing as they happily strolled down some formal-looking hallway.  I was mesmerized.  Something in my brain snapped and my opinion of the former President changed.

The next day I got on the internet, trying to find a copy of that photo. I thought to myself, “someone who looked that happy in the presence of the Dalai Lama can’t be all bad…”  I couldn’t find that particular photo but I did discover a whole slew of photos depicting various world leaders/celebrities with His Holiness.  I now thought to myself, “Wow! You really can tell a lot about a person by their body language.”  And so, this post came to be.

Side Note:  I have the utmost respect for the Dalai Lama.  Although not a Buddhist myself, I find his beliefs on kindness and compassion truly inspirational.

OK, so back to the meat of the story.

Body language 101

What it looks like when you’re having a great day and getting to meet someone really cool…

 

What it looks like when you have other stuff to do, but you really need to look interested and be polite…

 

What it looks like when you’d really rather be home in bed or at the bar having a good stiff drink…

 

Moral of the story:  When someone offers you their hand in peace, take it and SMILE!  You never know who might be watching — and your reaction may completely change their view of you.

Leave a Reply

